Adding Detail to my Moving Bodily Experience

After realising that I was applying the wax too thickly onto the surface of my sculpture I thinned it down with turpentine to give the wax a looser bond and make it thinner. I painted In every fine detail with oil paint watered down with turpentine and to seal it I added a thin layer of wax. I really enjoyed painting on top of the texture I created with the thicker wax as the bumps looked like imperfections in the skin. By sealing the paint with a thin layer of wax each time I could build up layers quickly. After everything dried and hardened I used my heat gun to melt into the layers carefully exposing details from the layers before and merging them with the top layers this allowed me to expose the woolen veins and capillaries making them more visible.

One thought on “Adding Detail to my Moving Bodily Experience

Leave a Reply

