Ways to Display the Wire Bed and Sculpture

DSC03787Initially I wanted to find a way to connect the bed thin steel wires that hang from the ceiling at the height a real mattress would be from the ground in a room however this was impractical as the motor would be too big to be hidden solely within the sculpture. So I decided to create a plinth that will store all the mechanics of the motor.DSC04391

I created a plinth that was roughly a similar size of the bottom of a bed frame to hold the motor and to display the wired mattress as a bed that my kinetic sculpture lays on. I had to glue and construct the top sheet of wood from two large sheets as I couldn’t get the size I wanted within a solid single sheet. I feel that I this plinth will elevate and hold the piece without taking any attention away from the piece itself.

 

Leave a Reply

