The Building of the Motor

I began to build the wooden framing that will encase the motor and will allow me to build the cam and various moving parts around it to function specifically the way I wish it to. in building the basic structure it allowed me to find out the measurements I needed for the cam to cut it out of steel and weld it to a component that will screw into the end of the motor.

I ordered various square diameter steel tubing that will become the frame and part that will move and support the chest cavity up and down in my sculpture.

I cut these pieces of steel to the correct height and welded a steel plate onto the stationary tubing so I could fix it to the wooden skeleton I built. I also welded another steel plate to the end of the moving smaller steel tubing to be able to fix a wooden board that supports some kind of polystyrene dome to make a natural looking chest cavity.

 

 

Leave a Reply

