Degree Proposal

 Proposed work and Required space

DSC03782My final pieces I want to capture the living and the dead functions of the body. Firstly I want to create an environment that the viewer goes into and sees a wire structure of  a bed with a globular form half sunken into the wires of the bed. I want this space to be lit in quite a dramatic matter and I want to make the globular form have a chest cavity which goes up and down giving the piece movement and breath. I feel the experience of this piece would be heightened with the movement of the chest going up and down. This globular form is going to be a representation of the body being controlled by depression and is living within the cage of the bed.

DSC0x3791Another piece I want to create is a dead form of energy that has been extracted from the body relieving it of mental torment. Being inspired my Paul Thek’s Meat Cables (Paul Thek, Meat Cables), the tumour series I am working on is something which I feel will be adaptive to the space within the degree show. I want these tumours to be lying around in dusty unused corners of the space as they are formed from negative energy and negative memories that has resonated with me for along time. Like Louise Bourgeois cells (Louise Bourgeois Cells ) I want these dead tumours to hold painful memories that has clotted my thoughts and caused anxieties within me. The reason I want to build this series of tumours because it will be me ejecting these negative feelings into something else and leaving my body allowing mental wounds to heal. I think they will be overall positive as they will remind the viewer of the painful moments in their lives and remember how they got rid of this mental tumour to continue and make them stronger.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Degree Proposal

Leave a Reply

