Eraserhead by David lynch

Eraserhead-baby
https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=eraserhead+baby&biw=1242&bih=566&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjp86ySyJzLAhWL7RQKHRElCQ4Q_AUIBigB#imgrc=HxxV8gBOd9k8eM%3A

This movie was recommended for me to watch by my tutors to look at in regards to the sculptures I make. I was really moved and stricken by my own response and the sympathetic nature I had towards the baby-like foetus. The ugly, disgusting baby is never touched or held the whole movie by either parents and the only time it is touched by its father is when the father cuts the baby open and pierces its organs killing it and effectively part of himself. I really felt sorry for the baby even though it was this unearthly creature because no one would hold it or care for it properly. This feeling I had towards the baby in this movie I feel I want to bring across in my work. This idea of feeling sympathy and your own existence within the fragile, untouchable infant is similar to the reaction I wish to create in the viewers who look at my work in my degree show.

maxresdefault

One thought on “Eraserhead by David lynch

Leave a Reply

