My Grandfather’s Skin

IMG_1521

In my previous piece the hanging body there was elements of the skin which I made bruised and cracked under the surface of the nylon. The dark purples and cracks within the skin is inspired from my grandad’s skin when he was in hospital. The way in which his skin created this galaxy of colours beneath the surface was to be so beautiful but brutal and painful. I really feel that I captured the painful quality of his skin after his operation and its fragile nature in some but not all areas of the hanging body piece.

 

Leave a Reply

