Making The Pillow Series Breathe

IMG_1505I have been recently attending workshops in making kinetic mechanisms to further understand how I can enhance the viewers’ experience of my work. In my pillow series I would like to create the pillows with a mechanism that makes them breathe. The pillow, as being the artefact of energy left over from the release of the scream, I want the pillows to be as alive as the person who let go within them. Like a chest cavity I want the pillow to rise and fall just like the process of inhaling and exhaling.

IMG_1506In working with Arduino I have been trying to discover ways in which I could build a motor that does this within each pillow. Not only do I want the pillows to breathe, I want them to react to the movement of the audience coming closer to them.  I want the pillows to understand the existence of the viewer and breathe heavier and faster when someone approaches them in fear. I have been experimenting with an ultrasound distance sensor in order to track the distance of the viewer and in the near future I wish to program my pillows to breathe and react to the viewer making them more aware of their presence within the room.

 

One thought on “Making The Pillow Series Breathe

Leave a Reply

