Sculpting onto the Shameful Body Form

IMG_1454Through the development of this piece I have decided to not give the piece any hands, feet, head or sex. I decided to cut out these body parts as I feel that the being shouldn’t have an identity and in doing this I am trying to open up the possibilities that it could be any human and that anyone could relate to it as a body just like their own. Also I feel that in taking away any form of sensory perception and identity from the being I am recreating the human form not just as flesh but as a piece of meat. I am challenging the ideas of man as just gobbets of flesh rather than specific people with identities and gender.

Leave a Reply

