Exploring Latex within Sculptures

DSC03489To develop a flesh on my sculptures I tried using latex, First I tried dipping my sculptures into latex, however In doing this the flesh clung to the sculpture surface more than I wish It would so I explored creating sheets of latex. In doing this I discovered the elasticity and movement of latex itself when dry and in its own form.DSC03464 I melted some of my doll ligaments to create the form and base of the sculpture and in stretching the latex over it to make a more ambiguous sculpture. Overall I wanted to achieve this sense of being unable to escape the flesh you are encapsulated in, however I don’t feel that latex is the medium in which I want to express this idea in in my future sculptural work.

DSC03407

DSC03422

Leave a Reply

