Creating My Book

IMG_0866I wanted my book to relate to my sculptures but have its own existence. I felt that I needed to bring the bone element into it as I feel it is such an important part of my subject work. I wanted my prints I put in the book to reflect the fragility of the human condition. In battling with this topic in print I felt that in going from 3D sculptures to 2D prints was a challenging transition as I had to adapt and learn new techniques to create different marks on paper.IMG_0859

IMG_0867I decided that I was going to create the bone as the spine of the book by drilling holes into it to bind the pages to the bone. I think the bone holding the pages together which I sewn nylon skin-coloured tights to really created a humanistic quality to the book. Overall I feel that I have achieved the skills of book binding which I can take into my final year and have the confidence to create my own sketchbooks.

IMG_0864IMG_0857

Leave a Reply

