Metamorphosis

DSC00447 This painting was a large experimentation to understand how to create meat as flesh by letting thick amounts of oil paint lie on the surface of the canvas. In this painting I was constantly removing and adding paint trying to fight with it in order to create what I want. The battle between me and the paint is evident as there is scrapes and layers evidently removed from certain areas of the painting. I was trying to capture the essence of metamorphosis from man into beast without it being visually evident. I feel that the process of this painting was something that challenged me and made me attack the canvas. The energy captured within the painting process on the canvas is something that takes the role of the painter out of the restrictive normality of painting and making them turn to a beastly way of working by attacking the canvas to get its emotion across.

Leave a Reply

