Suffering Meat

IMG_0627

When I returned to painting from sculpture I felt uneasy, but I knew that all I could do was to put the same effort and care I do with my sculptures into painting again. In working with thick oil paints I started to build up flesh on to a small canvas which I made when learning how to create stretchers. I let the paint lie un-blended to the colours around it I felt that letting the paint create its own existence evident was something which I wanted as the build up of paint created this marbled meat surface onto the body. Although this is a small painting I feel that it holds the mortal body of a human through metamorphosis.

Leave a Reply

