My Presentation for Art and the Conscious Mind

1.
presentation1

This was the slides from the PowerPoint I presented to the group on our last week of art and the conscious mind highlighting what I have taken away from it and ways in which it has changed my perception of my work and the work of others. I am going to explain in this post what I said within my presentation.

  1. presentation2In this first slide it is an image of JWM Turner’s “Rocky bay with figures”. This piece holds a lot of ambiguity, leaving a lot to the imagination making the image almost impossible to predict its true nature. It is evident in this piece that the idea of seeing and knowing in the first lecture we had and how seeing- knowing= visual indeterminacy creates fascination of the piece. Objects are unidentifiable in this piece making us see things that aren’t really there. Our brain picks up the shapes made and creates something that is formless into form making sense of the artwork. The painting is realistic in a sense as Turner is painting the light coming off the structures and objects rather than the objects themselves. He makes the point that it is not what you see it is the process of how you see is within his work.
  2. presentation3This second image is of Francis Bacon’s ” Three studies for a crucifixion”. The work in this triptych are deeply suggestive, giving us more than just an illustration as it is more powerful. Bacon’s work is recorded as close to his nervous sensations through painting with the figure being encoded within the paintings, suggesting the mental state of the artist. He gives us an visceral image which we can project our own memories of brutal imagery that we have come across. He makes us see how the Mental state may make the physical body feel.
  3. presentation4The third slide shows you the work of Berlinde de Bruyckere “Cripplewood”. This is a massive installation piece which is a dead tree made to look like a deformed body. Without a head or eyes or any distinct features however we can read it as a being and can relate to its human like forms. Traced from mythology the work is ambiguous. She casts the idea of human existence and what it is to be human into a material form suggesting a fragility, defenselessness and vulnerability in the work.  Her work reminded me of when we talked about Sigmund Freud’s ideas on the conscious and how the conscious lets us become aware of our senses letting us reflect on our experiences, we can feel what we feel. We can react to this work in a similar way as the artist has en-captured her reflection of feeling within the piece. The piece is also aware of its self and its own existence holding its own mental properties. Giving us as the audience an look into the mental body and our boundaries and lack of boundaries the body holds. E.g. A deer can smell you 1 km away from where it is standing, your odour is a part of you, you are spreading over thew world.
  4. presentation5With my work I have been looking at Animatism (how a living soul can be inside an inanimate object). When using bone in my work I am very aware of its matter and how it was once a part of a living animal,, it en-captures the spirit of the animal and also the mental state at which I made the work. I have been trying to capture the fragility of the human body and mental state. I want to capture something that is more powerful than a copy of a person, I want to compact sensations and feelings within the body and mind that is universal to all of us within my work. This Field option has helped me further my ideas of the conscious mind and ways it has closely related to my work.

Leave a Reply

