Adding more colour to wax and bone sculptures

IMG_03080With this piece I was looking more at self rather than a unit of beings. This piece the base layer was made up of dark browns and purples. I let the string be exposed more from the binding of the bones to make a structure because I believe that they are a raw element of the work making it more visceral. This piece is supposed to represent a being dragging their bones in an impossible puddle of wax giving up to escape its fate of mortality. The piece was originally more upright but as the wax dried it started bending over more and more and I let it as the sculpture was taking on the form it wanted to take. I let the wax work more like wax in this piece not trying to control it as much as it melted and exposed more of the base layer. overall I believe I am furthering my development with my sculpture techniques.

Leave a Reply

